My brain doesn’t want me to lose weight!

11 Jun

lanrewilliamsayedun:

I was going to write about something completely different today, but this blog post got me thinking about something that’s been going on with me lately. I’ve been sick and in and out of the hospital for the past three months. I’m basically all good now, but I’ve lost about 25 pounds in that timeframe. Everyone has been commenting about how good I look, and I’m happy to be back at what I weighed when I first met my husband. But in the past week since I’ve been fully back on my feet, I’ve felt as though my brain were sabotaging my efforts to keep the weight off. I’m constantly craving more carbs, more sweets, just more food than I have ever eaten, even when I was heavier. This article seems to confirm for me what I am starting to realize– my brain hates when I’m hot. Le sigh.

Originally posted on TED Blog:

TG2013_028527_DSC_2226

Photo: James Duncan Davidson

Standing on the TED stage looking stunning in a blue dress, neuroscientist and author Sandra Aamodt  reveals that three and a half years ago on New Year’s Eve, she made a decision: She gave worrying about her weight. Instead, she learned to eat mindfully — and lost 10 pounds. For Aamodt, who had been dieting unsuccessfully for 30 years, this was a major life change. She started her first diet at age 13, and found that the weight always came back.

As a neuroscientist, she wondered what made losing weight so hard. Turns out the brain is an incredibly efficient regulator of body weight. Isn’t weight loss about how much you eat versus how much energy you burn? Nope, it’s not that simple an equation: it turns out that hunger and energy use are controlled by the brain, mostly behind the scenes, and this unconscious force…

View original 820 more words

3 Responses to “My brain doesn’t want me to lose weight!”

  1. Yomi June 11, 2013 at 9:19 pm #

    When are you NOT hot?

    • laraeguillaume June 12, 2013 at 4:58 pm #

      I am Larae, and I approve the comment above! :) You rock, Yomi! :)

  2. elledacosta July 3, 2013 at 8:03 pm #

    Nice one Yomi! lol.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

